Knowledge Base Home Surveys & Polls How to Activate and Share a Survey
Once you have finished creating your survey you can publish the survey and share it with your subscribers via email, social media, and of course your website. To learn how to create or edit a survey, click here.
Topics covered in this article:
Things to know before getting started
An active survey can not be deleted if you need to delete a survey, you’ll need to first close the survey.
To make your survey active in the Design step of the survey creation process, click Save & Finish. A success message will be displayed. Now your survey is live. You can proceed to copy the URL and paste it where needed.
If your survey is inactive follow the steps below to activate your survey:
Create and publish a survey in your Benchmark Email editor. Once you have done that, you can not only email it or post it on your website, you can also share it on Facebook and Twitter. By distributing your surveys to your social media followers, your online marketing will be socially integrated, allowing you to customize your survey depending on the social platform and network of your choosing.
To get the survey URL follow the steps below:
Only active surveys have a Survey URL option.
The following steps assume that you already have an active survey and an email created in your account.
You can change the content of your questions, the question type, or even add a new question. The only thing you will not be able to change is the order of the questions, to do that you will have to create a copy of your survey to start over.
To make changes to a live survey, follow the next steps:
Additionally, you can edit the Survey Details such as the title and survey description as well as the survey design.
When you make a copy of a survey, you are creating a new survey that is going to look the same as your previous survey, only it will allow you to edit the questions before making it live. The new survey’s results will be kept on a separate report than those of the original survey.
To copy a survey:
You can only make a copy of a survey that is active or closed. Copy/Duplicate Survey will create a new copy of the survey, thus allowing you to edit. The original survey will remain unchanged.
To reuse a closed survey:
You can reuse a closed survey anytime by creating a copy of the original closed survey.
You can add or remove questions and change the details or colors of the survey.
To prevent new respondents from participating in your published survey, you will need to close it. You will still be able to access the results of your survey after you have closed it.
To close your published survey:
Once you click on the Close Survey option, your page will automatically redirect to the Surveys page and you will see that the desired Survey is closed.
You can reactivate a survey anytime. To do this go back to the closed survey, click on the Status step, then click on the Reactivate Survey option.
Before deleting a survey, consider the following: Close the survey if it is still active. Closing the survey will prevent new respondents from participating. Export your survey results from Benchmark to a local file. In case you may need to reference the data in the future.
If you delete a survey, it will be permanently removed from your account. The survey reports will also no longer be available; this information cannot be restored.
To permanently remove the survey and its results from your account, click on the More Options icon to the right of the survey name and select Delete. Click on the Delete option in the confirmation popup. This process cannot be reversed.
If you have any questions, please contact our support team.